New England Catholic Homeschool Conference

sponsored by Western Mass Catholic Homeschoolers

  • Search by Category

  • Stay Connected!

  • Catholic Scripture Study!

December ProLife Corner

Posted by nechc on December 29, 2008

GWBD
iM
ProLife Corner by Karen Walsh     I recently gave a presentation on abortion to a CCD class. In preparation for the talk, I went through my materials and planned what I would use in speaking to the students. I came across an old pro-life pamphlet that depicted abortion statistics from our country since abortion became legal in 1973. I thought I would replicate it on a poster-sized board, as it was a good visual to use for the talk.

      The pamphlet, I discovered, was from 1982. That meant I had a bit of mathematical calculating to do to make my poster reflect current statistics.

There were markings which represented the numbers of deaths from America’s involvement in all the wars since our country’s founding. Each mark represented 50,000 deaths. The marks were placed after each war to show how many people died. All together, there were 23 marks.

     I took out the calculator. I did the math. I did it again. It seemed I couldn’t possibly be doing it right (after all I’ve never been very good at math!) but 960 marks were needed to show the number of deaths by abortion! Nine hundred sixty marks representing 50,000 deaths each?!

     I found this so surreal that I began myself questioning the statistics. Where are we getting these numbers from anyway? Turns out, its from the (secular) Center for Disease Control (CDC) and the Alan Gutmayer Institute, which is the research arm of Planned Parenthood, the largest abortion provider in the world. No pro-life slant there!

     Worse yet, I figured out that, at the rate we do abortions, there could be another mark added—representing 50,000 more deaths—in less than 2 weeks!! And this is only an account of legal, surgical abortions—the number of chemical/birth control related abortions is actually incalculable.

      Please, let us refuse to become discouraged over the overwhelming problem we are facing with abortion in our time, but rather let this cause us to redouble our efforts to do whatever God’s will permits that we can, to help put an end to this wholesale slaughter of our innocent brothers and sisters. Exactly what we can do will differ from person to person, to be sure. Yet we can All pray, and pray more fervently. We are all so needed in this battle. Our Lord bids us to do what we can, always remembering that “Whatever you do for these the least of my brothers and sisters, you do for Me.”

Karen

 

Some Resources:
http://www.abort73.com/HTML/II-A-abortion_statistics.html
In 2005 (the most recent year for which there is reliable data), approximately 1.21 million abortions took place in the U.S., down from an estimated 1.29 million in 2002, 1.31 million in 2000 and 1.36 million in 1996. From 1973 through 2005, more than 45 million legal abortions have occurred in the U.S. (AGI).Overall, the annual number of legal induced abortions in the United States increased gradually from 1973 until it peaked in 1990, and it generally declined thereafter (CDC).

 

 

Leave a Reply

 
